Fix First HomeWhat home-upgrade rebates actually pay — and who you apply to.

Fix First Home › Ontario › Ontario Renovates

Ontario Renovates open in some regions

Administered by Ontario's municipal service managers, each running its own intake.

Ontario's repair and accessibility money for low-income seniors and people with disabilities, run separately by each city or region: a forgivable loan of $15,000 to $25,000, forgiven over ten years if you stay, with the first $5,000 of accessibility work usually a grant. Toronto has discontinued its stream.

source · verified 27 September 2026

What it pays

Maximum by area, where intake is open
UpgradeConditionUp to
Home repairs or accessibilityLondon and Middlesex County: open for 2026 until funds run out$25,000
Home repairs or accessibilityOttawa: a $15,000 loan plus a $5,000 grant for accessibility, open to 31 March 2027$20,000
Home repairs or accessibilityHamilton: intake status not stated$25,000
Home repairs or accessibilityWaterloo Region: apply by 15 November or 1 December 2026$25,000
Home repairs or accessibilitySimcoe County: 2025-2026$15,000
Who qualifies, area by area
AreaAgeIncomeHome value
London and Middlesex60 or older, or a disability$95,000 or less; assets $30,000 or lessAssessed at $320,000 or less
Ottawa65 or older, a disability, or living with eitherBy household size, table below$670,908 or less
HamiltonNot stated on the page$60,000 or less$300,000 or less
Waterloo RegionLow-income homeownersBy household size, table below$600,000 or less
Simcoe CountyLow-income homeowners$91,000 or less; assets under $20,000$799,000 or less

Closed or gone

  • Toronto: "the Toronto Renovates Homeowners Program has been discontinued and is not expected to be reactivated"
  • Haldimand-Norfolk: the application period has closed ($15,000)
  • Kawartha Lakes and Haliburton: closed for 2026 ($20,000 plus a $5,000 grant)

Peel, York and Durham regions publish no homeowner Ontario Renovates intake on their own sites: checked on 2 October 2026, Durham's Ontario Priorities Housing Initiative page funds affordable rental housing, and York Region's Home Repair Program appears only in council reports from 2014. Ask the region's housing office before assuming there is nothing.

Hamilton also runs an Emergency Repair Program: a grant of up to $5,000 for homeowners on Ontario Works or ODSP.

Who is eligible

Ottawa income limits
People in the homeGross income
1$40,000
2$53,400
3$65,400
4$78,400
5$88,400
6$99,350
7 or more$109,000
Waterloo Region income limits
People in the homeIncome
1$41,210
2$51,204
3$63,072
4$76,577
5$86,853
6$97,956
7 or more$109,060

Rules most areas share

  • Essential repairs, such as the roof, heating, electrical, plumbing, septic or structure, or accessibility changes
  • Nothing started before approval; London wants three estimates and pays the homeowner, not the contractor
  • Forgiven over ten years if you stay; the first $5,000 of accessibility work is a grant in most areas

What disqualifies you

The rules people find out about after the work is done.

  • Work started before the loan agreement is signed or registered.
  • Energy efficiency on its own, in Simcoe County: the funding "cannot be used solely for energy efficiency upgrades".

Where the application goes

Apply to your own city or region's housing office; each runs its own intake and rules.

Where the application goes
If this is youApply here
London and Middlesexlondon.ca
Ottawaottawa.ca
Hamiltonhamilton.ca
Waterloo Regionregionofwaterloo.ca

The thing most pages get wrong

Toronto, Ontario's largest city, has none. The City's own answer: "Due to insufficient provincial program funding, the Toronto Renovates Homeowners Program has been discontinued and is not expected to be reactivated." A Toronto home-improvement guide updated in August 2026 still lists Toronto Renovates.

The same name, different rules

The age line is 60 in London and 65 in Ottawa. Income ceilings run from $60,000 in Hamilton to $120,800 in Haldimand-Norfolk. Waterloo's own fact sheet gives two deadlines, 15 November and 1 December 2026, and both a $25,000 maximum and an example of $26,000 funded. The home values are 2016 assessments: MPAC's 2026 values are still "based on fully phased-in January 1, 2016 current values".