Canada: federal, every province & the territories · US: federal and twenty-seven states, from California to Oregon · updated 13 October 2026
Most Canadian rebate pages are telling you to apply somewhere that stopped taking applications.
This is a running record of what home-upgrade rebate programmes in Canada, and now the United States, actually pay right now, which body you apply to, and which ones have quietly closed. Every figure below was read off the administrator’s own page — never off a contractor’s blog — and carries a link to that page and the date it was last checked.
Start here: the federal layer changed, and most of the web has not noticed
If you read one thing on this page, read this.
You can no longer apply to Ottawa for a home-upgrade grant.
Every federal programme a homeowner could once apply to directly is closed. Federal money has not stopped — but it now reaches you only through a provincial or utility programme. Natural Resources Canada states it plainly: “The Government of Canada is not accepting applications from households.”
Pages still pointing you at a federal application form for the Greener Homes Grant or the $40,000 Greener Homes Loan are out of date. Both are closed — see what closed and when.
Open — but only through your province or utility
Oil to Heat Pump Affordability Program open via province
$15,000
Federal share where a province co-delivers, plus up to $5,000 more where the province matches it, and a $250 bonus cheque. In B.C. you apply through the Energy Savings Program; in Ontario, through the Energy Affordability Program.
What it pays and who qualifies →
Canada Greener Homes Affordability Program open in B.C.
No cost to you
No-cost home retrofits - insulation, heat pumps and similar - for low-to-median-income homeowners and tenants. Began delivery in 2025. In B.C. it is delivered by BC Hydro and FortisBC. There is no federal form to fill in.
How it reaches B.C. homeowners →
What British Columbia pays, at any income
The CleanBC Home Renovation Rebate. No income test. Funded by BC Hydro and FortisBC with the Province of B.C.
| Upgrade | Condition | Up to |
|---|---|---|
| Air-source heat pump | Electrically heated home, anywhere in BC | $4,000 |
| Heat pump water heater | Electric | $1,000 |
| Windows & doors | Any eligible home | $2,000 |
| Insulation | Any eligible home | $5,500 |
| Air-source heat pump | Northern B.C. — at or north of District of 100 Mile House (lat 51.628N), oil heated | $6,000 |
| Air-source heat pump | Northern B.C. — natural gas or propane heated | $8,000 |
| Heat pump water heater | Northern B.C. — gas/oil/propane | $1,000 |
source · verified 23 September 2026
“Northern” means at or north of the District of 100 Mile House. The home must be your year-round primary residence and at least 12 months old, most rebates require a programme-registered contractor, and you must apply within six months of the work being finished. Full eligibility and the catches →
If your household income is under the line, the numbers change completely
Two income-tested programmes run in B.C., and they share one income ceiling.
Something no single page tells you
ECAP's income ceiling is identical to the CleanBC Energy Savings Program's ESP1 column, across all seven household sizes.
How we know: BC Hydro's ECAP income table and FortisBC's ECAP income table both read 51,100 / 63,600 / 78,200 / 94,900 / 107,600 / 121,400 / 135,100. The ESP requirements page lists the same seven numbers as its ESP1 column.
| People in household | Income ceiling |
|---|---|
| 1 person | $51,100 |
| 2 people | $63,600 |
| 3 people | $78,200 |
| 4 people | $94,900 |
| 5 people | $107,600 |
| 6 people | $121,400 |
| 7+ | $135,100 |
source · verified 23 September 2026
CleanBC Energy Savings Program open
up to $13,000
Pays 100% of eligible upgrade cost up to a per-home maximum that varies by your previous heating fuel and income level. Heat pump water heater up to $3,500.
Income bands, equipment specs, exclusions →
Energy Conservation Assistance Program open
No cost to you
A free home energy evaluation, then free installation of whatever it recommends. Homeowners and renters. One catch: an address may only take part once every 10 years.
Full eligibility and what is covered →
BC Hydro solar panel and battery storage rebate open
up to $10,000
Grid-connected solar panels and battery storage for qualifying residential customers.
source · verified 23 September 2026
Where your application actually goes
This trips up more applications than any eligibility rule — and the question that decides it is a different question in each place. That is the single most useful thing on this site, and no administrator states it.
British Columbia · any income
Who sends your electricity bill?
- BC Hydro, New Westminsterapply to BC Hydro
- FortisBC, Grand Forks, Summerland, Penticton, Nelsonapply to FortisBC
- Pacific Northern Gasseparate PNG top-up application
source · verified 23 September 2026
Ontario · any income
What are you installing?
- Heat pumps and attic insulationa programme-qualified contractor applies for you, and pre-approval must come first
- Solar panels and battery storageyou choose your own contractor - there is no qualified-contractor list for solar
- Smart thermostats and appliancesbuy and install them yourself, then claim
- Two or more bundled upgradesa registered energy advisor from an approved Service Organization
source · verified 23 September 2026
Ontario · income-tested
What does your postal code start with?
- Postal codes starting with KEnviroCentre
- Postal codes starting with L, M or PCLEAResult
- Postal codes starting with NThe Home Inspectors Group
source · verified 23 September 2026
Alberta · any income
Has your municipality joined?
- Banff, Medicine Hat, Stirling, Taber or Westlocktaking applications: financing at your municipality's own rate, repaid on your tax bill
- Edmonton, St. Albert and seven othersat capacity — waitlist only
- Any other municipality on the list, Calgary includedclosed, or not launched — check its own CEIP page
- Anywhere else in Albertanothing
source · verified 23 September 2026
Quebec · any income
Envelope, or equipment?
- Insulation, air sealing, doors, windowsRénoclimat, the province, paid on the measured improvement
- A heat pump, geothermal, thermal storage, solarLogisVert, Hydro-Québec, paid per 1,000 BTU/h
- Both, for different workboth — Quebec states in writing that the two are complementary
source · verified 23 September 2026
Newfoundland & Labrador · any income
What heats the house today?
- ElectricitytakeCHARGE insulation, air sealing and duct rebates
- Oil or propaneOil to Electric only — and the ordinary rebates open up only after you switch
- Oil, and low incomeOil to Electric at the income-qualified rate, up to $22,000
source · verified 23 September 2026
What Ontario pays, at any income
The Home Renovation Savings Program. Run jointly by Save on Energy and Enbridge Gas. It replaced the Home Efficiency Rebate Plus, which is closed and still widely advertised as open.
| Upgrade | Condition | Up to |
|---|---|---|
| Cold-climate air-source heat pump | Single upgrade, no assessment — gas-heated Enbridge Gas customer, paid at $500 per ton | $2,000 |
| Ground-source heat pump | Single upgrade, no assessment — gas-heated Enbridge Gas customer, flat amount | $3,000 |
| Cold-climate air-source heat pump | Single upgrade, no assessment — home heated by electricity, oil, propane or wood, paid at $1,250 per ton | $7,500 |
| Ground-source heat pump | Single upgrade, no assessment — home heated by electricity, oil, propane or wood, paid at $2,000 per ton | $12,000 |
| Cold-climate air-source heat pump | Rented rather than purchased, any eligible heating fuel | $2,000 |
| Ground-source heat pump | Rented rather than purchased, any eligible heating fuel | $3,000 |
| Solar panels | Single upgrade, no assessment — you choose your own contractor | $5,000 |
| Battery storage | Single upgrade, no assessment — bundled with solar panels | $5,000 |
| Attic insulation | Single upgrade, no assessment | $1,250 |
| Cathedral ceiling or flat roof insulation | Single upgrade, no assessment | $750 |
| Smart thermostat | Single upgrade, no assessment — buy, install and activate it by 31 December 2026; $125 with a free Energy Affordability Program kit | $100 |
| Appliances | Single upgrade, no assessment — buy and install it yourself | $200 |
source · verified 23 September 2026
Those are the upgrades you can claim on their own. A second, larger set — insulation to specific R-values, air sealing, windows, a heat pump water heater and a $600 assessment rebate — needs a home energy assessment first and at least two upgrades after it. The full table, the fuel split and the catches →
Ontario answers the question B.C. does not
In Ontario the two streams of the Home Renovation Savings Program do combine, and the programme says so outright. B.C. has never answered the same question about its own programmes.
How we know: The with-assessment page ends its rebate table with 'You may also be eligible for rebates where no home energy assessment is required for the measures below', and lists heat pumps, solar panels plus battery storage, and smart thermostats. Those are exactly the single-upgrade stream's measures.
Ontario’s income-tested route, and the two lines that govern it
The Energy Affordability Program installs upgrades free rather than reimbursing them, and it is open to renters as well as owners. It is also how federal oil-to-heat-pump money reaches Ontario.
| People in the home | Comprehensive support | Energy saving kits |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | $48,220 | $71,437 |
| 2 | $68,193 | $101,027 |
| 3 | $83,518 | $123,731 |
| 4 | $96,439 | $142,873 |
| 5 | $107,823 | $159,737 |
| 6 | $118,113 | $174,983 |
| 7 or more | $127,576 | — |
source · verified 23 September 2026
This is how federal Oil to Heat Pump Affordability money reaches Ontario. Natural Resources Canada names the IESO as its Ontario co-delivery partner and values the free heat pump system at up to $25,000 — up to $15,000 federal and up to $10,000 provincial — with nothing paid to the applicant except a $250 bonus cheque. An oil-heated Ontario household applies here, not to Ottawa. Who qualifies, what gets installed, and which agent covers your postal code →
Alberta is different, and worse
No provincial rebate. None from the big utilities. And since 31 July 2026, no federal route either.
The one province where the answer is mostly “nothing”
British Columbia pays through BC Hydro and FortisBC; Ontario pays through the IESO and Enbridge. Alberta has no equivalent, and its two largest utilities publish no residential efficiency rebate at all. What Alberta has is the Clean Energy Improvement Program — which is a loan repaid through your property tax bill, at a rate your own municipality sets, anywhere from 1.62% to 6%. The rebates that exist are local: Medicine Hat’s city-owned utility pays up to $5,000 a home, Banff pays by the energy saved, and Calgary and Canmore install upgrades free for lower incomes.
Saskatchewan lost its retrofit rebate in April
No envelope rebate, no heat pump rebate, and since 31 July no federal oil route.
What is left is gas equipment and fifty furnaces
SaskPower and SaskEnergy’s Home Efficiency Retrofit Rebate ended in April 2026 with nothing in its place. Saskatchewan now has a gas-equipment rebate of $325 to $1,000, a free efficiency visit for lower-income households, and 50 free furnaces offered by invitation. Only Saskatoon homeowners can finance a heat pump, through the City’s loan.
source · verified 23 September 2026
Manitoba has one door, and a stale $20,000 offer behind it
One agency runs every rebate. Its own page still advertises federal money that closed on 31 July 2026.
Free heat pumps, but only for electric heat
Manitoba routes nothing by utility, because Manitoba Hydro supplies the electricity and most of the gas and Efficiency Manitoba runs the rebates for both. An income-qualified household heated by electricity gets an air source or ground source heat pump installed free through the Energy Efficiency Assistance Program. Everyone else gets a $2,000 air source rebate, or a ground source system for $75 a month for 15 years. And Efficiency Manitoba’s own page still offers oil-heated homes up to $20,000 through the federal Oil to Heat Pump Affordability Program, which closed for Manitoba on 31 July 2026.
source · verified 23 September 2026
Quebec pays twice, and puts it in writing
The province pays for the envelope. Hydro-Québec pays for the equipment. Both, on the same house, for different work.
Two programmes on one house, and the page that says so
Rénoclimat covers insulation, air sealing, doors and windows, and pays nothing at all towards a heating system — that moved to LogisVert, where a heat pump is paid at $120 per 1,000 BTU/h of capacity and an electric thermal storage system with a central heat pump is worth $22,000. Rénoclimat’s own eligibility page states the two are complementary and gives the worked example.
Everything Quebec pays, and the two things it still advertises that closed →
Atlantic Canada just lost its federal oil route
Two provinces closed the same programme in one week, for two different reasons. One province did not.
30 June, 2 July, and the one that stayed open
New Brunswick stopped registering people for Oil to Heat Pump Affordability on 30 June 2026 when Ottawa closed registration; Nova Scotia stopped on 2 July 2026 because its funding was fully allocated. Newfoundland and Labrador is still taking applications, with no closure date set, and pays up to $22,000 to an income-qualified household putting in a central heat pump.
The North: generous, thin, and repair-only
Three territories, three different answers.
The Yukon pays in full; Nunavut lends and forgives
The Yukon pays 100% of an air source heat pump, up to $24,000, for households under $163,300 after tax for a family of four, and up to $12,000 for insulating walls. The Northwest Territories pays for insulation and wood stoves but has no air source heat pump rebate. Nunavut’s help is repair money from its housing corporation: a forgivable loan of up to $100,000, of which nothing is forgiven for five years.
source · verified 23 September 2026
The United States: the tax credits ended, and California’s rebates are mostly spoken for
New on 24 September 2026, starting with the largest state.
Waitlists where the headlines say rebates
The federal heat pump and solar tax credits ended with 2025. In California, the federal heat pump rebate has been fully reserved for single-family homes since 24 February 2026 and the battery rebate is waitlisted almost everywhere. What is open is free weatherization below an income line, $82,500 for a family of four through the utilities, and state-backed loans of up to $50,000.
source · verified 24 September 2026
Texas: the state pays nothing yet, and most utility money goes to the contractor
New on 26 September 2026, the second-largest state.
Ask who is being paid
Texas has not launched the federal HOMES and HEAR rebates, $690 million for the state. Across Dallas–Fort Worth, Houston and the rest of the competitive market, the delivery utilities pay contractors, not homeowners: TNMP says its contractors need not pass any of it on, and Oncor publishes no per-upgrade amount at all. Austin Energy pays homeowners up to $4,000 toward solar and up to $1,600 toward a heat pump. Free weatherization is open below $66,000 a year for a family of four.
source · verified 26 September 2026
Florida: the federal rebates have not launched, and the utilities pay by the efficiency tier
New on 26 September 2026, the third-largest state.
Check the SEER2 tier before you sign
Florida has not launched the federal HOMES and HEAR rebates, about $346 million for the state. Tampa Electric pays $550 for a heat pump at 16.2 SEER2 and $40 at 15.2; OUC pays a typical 3-ton system at the minimum $65; FPL pays $200. Duke Energy Florida pays the most, up to $1,000. The biggest grant is My Safe Florida Home: up to $10,000 for hurricane upgrades, for low- and moderate-income homeowners.
source · verified 26 September 2026
Pennsylvania: the state rebates are stuck, and half the electric utilities are between programs
New on 26 September 2026, the fifth-largest state.
Check your utility before you count on a rebate
Penn Energy Savers, Pennsylvania’s HOMES and HEAR rebates, is awaiting federal approval. The utilities’ programs restarted on 1 June 2026: PECO pays $200 or $300 for a heat pump and PPL $225 or $325, down from $350 to $450, while Duquesne Light and Met-Ed, Penelec, Penn Power and West Penn Power have none open. PHFA lends up to $10,000 at 1%.
source · verified 26 September 2026
New York: the heat pump money is large, and since September it depends on your insulation
New on 26 September 2026, the fourth-largest state.
Insulate before you replace the heat
Since 1 September 2026, NYS Clean Heat pays $7,000 for a whole-home heat pump that replaces the old heating in a single-family house, and $12,000 if the home qualifies for the new Weatherized Tier (National Grid, NYSEG and RG&E, Central Hudson, Orange & Rockland; $10,000 at Con Edison). Comfort Home pays $2,500 or $3,000 to insulate first. The federal HEAR rebates pay far less here than rebate sites say.
source · verified 26 September 2026
Illinois, Ohio, Georgia and North Carolina: added 27 September 2026
The sixth- to ninth-largest states, read off each administrator’s own pages.
Illinois: the federal rebates have not launched, and ComEd pays no insulation rebate
ComEd takes up to $2,000 off a heat pump (what it pays) but nothing for insulation above 80% of area median income; in its territory the gas utilities pay, Nicor Gas only to replace gas with gas. Ameren Illinois pays $1.10 a square foot at any income. The federal rebates still await the U.S. Department of Energy’s approval.
source · verified 27 September 2026
Ohio: the utilities stopped paying rebates, and the gas companies followed
House Bill 6 ended every electric utility efficiency plan on 31 December 2020, and Columbia Gas ended its rebates for everyone but low-income customers in 2023. Below 200% of the poverty line ($66,000 for four), weatherization is free; above it, only rural co-ops and 16 city utilities still pay.
source · verified 27 September 2026
Georgia: the federal whole-home rebate is open, and pays up to $16,000
The Home Efficiency Rebates pay up to 98% of a whole-home project, to $16,000, below 80% of area median income, twice what rebate sites say; the appliance rebates are paused. Georgia Power pays toward a heat pump only when it replaces an electric furnace, and Atlanta Gas Light pays up to $1,000 to replace a heat pump with gas.
source · verified 27 September 2026
North Carolina: the federal rebates are open everywhere, and changed on 1 September
Energy Saver NC’s HEAR rebates pay up to $8,000 for a heat pump, but since 1 September 2026 not when it replaces gas, propane or oil; HOMES still does, up to $16,000 below 80% of area median income. Duke Energy pays $350 to $900 for a heat pump and $1,500 when it replaces electric heat.
source · verified 27 September 2026
Canada, a layer deeper: added 27 September 2026
City, utility and housing programmes, read off each administrator’s own pages, where the provincial programmes alone were not the whole answer.
Nova Scotia has its own page
Since the oil-to-heat-pump money closed, a three-ton ducted heat pump pays from nothing to $6,000 in Nova Scotia, depending on income and fuel. Halifax now finances whole-house retrofits for oil-heated homes built before 2000 at 4.75% over ten years. What is left in Nova Scotia →
source · verified 27 September 2026
British Columbia has its own page
The municipal heat pump top-ups ended in 2025, the Energy Savings Program was cut on 6 July 2026, and BC Hydro’s $500 to $1,000 bonus needs the work paid by 31 October. FortisBC runs its own rebate of up to $12,000 for lower incomes. What is left in B.C. →
source · verified 27 September 2026
Ontario has its own page
Six Ontario cities lend for home energy upgrades, from 2% in Durham to 4.75% plus 2% in Toronto, and Home Renovation Savings carries end-of-2026 deadlines in its terms. The smart thermostat rebate is $100. Twelve cities and regions pay toward backwater valves and sump pumps, Toronto up to $6,650 a property and Mississauga up to $7,500. Everything open in Ontario →
source · verified 27 September 2026
Quebec: the city renovation grants are mostly closed
Rénovation Québec, which paid for most city renovation grants, has been suspended since April 2025; Montréal and Gatineau still run their own. RénoRégion pays up to $25,000 for rural repairs, and Enbridge Gaz Québec matches Rénoclimat dollar for dollar. Everything open in Quebec →
source · verified 27 September 2026
Alberta has rebates after all, in two places
Medicine Hat’s city-owned utility pays its customers up to $5,000 a home for insulation, windows, heat pumps and solar, Banff pays by the gigajoule saved, and Calgary and Canmore install furnaces free for lower incomes. What Alberta has, corrected →
source · verified 27 September 2026
Michigan, New Jersey, Virginia, Washington, Arizona and Tennessee: added 2 October 2026
The tenth- to fifteenth-largest states, read off each administrator’s own pages.
Michigan: the federal rebates are open, but paused in five districts
MiHER covers up to all of a project’s cost below 80% of area median income, but new applications are paused in Detroit, Warren, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo and Lansing. DTE pays up to $1,200 for a heat pump only when it replaces electric heat; Holland and UPPCO pay by the ton.
source · verified 2 October 2026
New Jersey: the utilities pay, the federal rebates have not started
New Jersey’s HOMES and HEAR are still under development. The utilities pay instead: a cold-climate heat pump earns $600 to $2,000 depending on the utility, PSE&G pays up to $10,000 to replace gas or oil heat, and free weatherization reaches households up to 400% of the poverty line.
source · verified 2 October 2026
Virginia: no federal rebates yet, and the gas companies pay most
Virginia’s HOMES and HEAR have no launch date, and HEAR will pay only to replace electric equipment. Weatherization is free to $86,109 for four, and Washington Gas pays $1,400 to $2,000 for a dual-fuel heat pump.
source · verified 2 October 2026
Washington: the federal rebates are still being set up, and the utilities decide the rest
Puget Sound Energy pays $1,500 to $4,000 toward a heat pump (what it pays) and no longer rebates gas equipment; Cascade Natural Gas still pays up to $2,400 for a gas furnace. Chelan County PUD pays $3,300 for a ducted conversion. The federal rebates are at step five of seven.
source · verified 2 October 2026
Arizona: SRP and TEP still pay, APS does not
SRP pays up to $1,125 toward a heat pump or AC (what it pays) and TEP up to $720; APS lists no equipment rebate. Efficiency Arizona pays up to $14,000, but since 1 September 2026 only to replace electric equipment.
source · verified 2 October 2026
Tennessee: one TVA menu, and your power company decides
TVA EnergyRight pays $800 for a 17 SEER2 heat pump and $1,500 for geothermal (what it pays), $300 per insulation measure and $900 off a heat pump water heater, where your local power company takes part. The federal rebates still await a signed agreement with the U.S. Department of Energy.
source · verified 2 October 2026
Massachusetts, Indiana, Missouri, Maryland, Colorado and Wisconsin: added 3 October 2026
The sixteenth- to twenty-first-largest states, read off each administrator’s own pages.
Massachusetts: Mass Save pays most of it, unless your town runs its own utility
Mass Save pays $2,650 a ton, up to $8,500, for a whole-home heat pump (what it pays), not the $10,000 older guides quote, and its income-based offers are free up to $103,049 for four. Light plant towns have the state’s new 0% Z-Loan instead.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Indiana: the federal rebates are open, and your utility decides the rest
The Indiana Energy Saver Program pays up to $18,000 for a whole-home project below 80% of area median income. Duke Energy Indiana pays $2,500 to $3,000 to add gas backup to a heat pump but $800 to replace electric heat; NIPSCO pays $800 to $1,000 for a heat pump.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Missouri: the utilities pay, mostly on the bill
Ameren Missouri pays $2,000 toward a heat pump only through Pay As You Save, and Evergy only through FastTrack HVAC PAYS. Spire pays $200 or $300 for a gas furnace. The federal rebates are still awaiting approval.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Maryland: the utilities pay up to $15,000 to switch, and the federal rebates are still waiting
BGE and Pepco and Delmarva pay up to $15,000 when a project switches gas, oil or propane heat to a heat pump, through the end of 2026. The federal rebates were resubmitted on 30 September 2026, and BGE still points to a $3,000 state geothermal grant that has ended.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Colorado: HEAR has closed, and the utilities decide the rest
Xcel Energy pays $1,500 per heating ton for a cold-climate heat pump in homes heated with Xcel gas, and Power Ahead Colorado adds $1,500 a system in the Denver region. The state credit is a contractor discount of at least $333; HEAR closed on 1 August 2026.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Wisconsin: one statewide program, and the federal rebates are open
HOMES and HEAR are open through Focus on Energy, HEAR up to $14,000 per household below 150% of area median income. Focus takes $400 to $700 off a heat pump through the contractor, and weatherization reaches $76,661 for a family of four.
source · verified 3 October 2026
Minnesota, South Carolina, Alabama, Louisiana, Kentucky and Oregon: added 13 October 2026
The twenty-second- to twenty-seventh-largest states, read off each administrator’s own pages.
Minnesota: the utilities pay while the federal rebates wait
HOMES and HEAR have not launched. Xcel Energy pays $1,600 or $2,000 for a mini-split heat pump, CenterPoint $1,000 for a 97% furnace, and weatherization reaches $71,999 for four.
source · verified 13 October 2026
South Carolina: your utility decides the rebate
Duke Energy pays $350 to $900 for a heat pump and $1,500 to replace electric furnace heat; Dominion Energy SC pays only for like-for-like swaps. The state credit pays 25% of solar or geothermal, up to $3,500 a year.
source · verified 13 October 2026
Alabama: Alabama Power or TVA decides what you get
Alabama Power pays $1,000 when a heat pump replaces a gas furnace, until 1 December 2026. TVA EnergyRight pays $800 for a heat pump in north Alabama, and HOMES and HEAR have no launch date.
source · verified 13 October 2026
Louisiana: two utilities pay up to $3,500 for a heat pump
Cleco and SWEPCO take up to $3,500 off a heat pump through approved contractors; Entergy Louisiana has no heat pump rebate, and HER and HEAR have not launched.
source · verified 13 October 2026
Kentucky: modest utility rebates, federal ones still pending
LG&E and KU pay $400 for a heat pump, Duke Energy Kentucky up to $800, and the co-ops up to $1,875 for Button-Up. HOMES and HEAR await federal approval.
source · verified 13 October 2026
Oregon: Energy Trust pays for PGE and Pacific Power homes, and the state’s money is running out
Energy Trust pays $800 or $1,000 for a heat pump that replaces electric heat in an owner-occupied home, $1,800 to $3,000 for rentals and moderate incomes. The state’s $2,000 is fully reserved for existing owner-occupied homes, and HOMES and HEAR have no launch date.
source · verified 13 October 2026
What we don’t know yet
Every rebate site has gaps. Most do not tell you where they are.
- What B.C.’s provincial programmes will look like after the election on 24 October 2026. Better Homes BC and BC Housing stopped updating their sites for the campaign, so any change will come after it.
- British Columbia's own end date for the Oil to Heat Pump Affordability programme is not published anywhere. Ottawa defers to the province; the province does not give a date.
- FortisBC’s smaller offers (appliance, clothes washer and EV charger rebates, instant rebates) have no record here; its heat pump, envelope and water heater rebates, at any income and income-qualified, do.
- BC Hydro’s free smart baseboard thermostats, up to five a home through Peak Saver, are announced for this fall with no launch date.
- Whether the Home Energy Improvement Bonus still pays for work invoiced after 2023. FortisBC’s bonus page says all invoices must be dated on or before 31 December 2023; the provincial requirements of 15 May 2026 set no such cut-off.
- B.C.’s municipal layer covers the places in the table on the B.C. page, not every municipality. The province’s own page for municipal top-ups has returned a 404 since at least 1 September 2026, and the top-ups it listed ended in 2025.
- The Canada Greener Homes Affordability Program publishes no dollar cap, because upgrades are installed rather than reimbursed. If a delivery organisation publishes a per-home value, it will appear here.
- Whether Enbridge’s gas-heated rebates, and its Home Winterproofing Program, continue after 31 December 2026. The Ontario Energy Board approved Enbridge’s efficiency budget only to that date, and its 2027 to 2030 plan is still before the Board.
- The Energy Affordability Program's energy-saving kit income table stops at six or more people, while its comprehensive support table runs to seven. No ceiling is published for a seven-person household seeking the kit.
- Ontario’s municipal layer covers the city loans and twelve flood-protection subsidies on the Ontario page. Peel, York and Durham publish no homeowner intake for Ontario Renovates, the repair loan each city or region runs for itself; whether they run one at all is not stated on their sites.
- Whether an Ontario household can hold a Home Renovation Savings rebate and Energy Affordability Program upgrades in the same year is not stated on either page.
- Alberta has no provincial home-upgrade rebate. The province's only residential money is the Seniors Home Adaptation and Repair Program, which is age-restricted and mostly a loan. This is a finding, not a gap in our coverage.
- Alberta’s big utilities have no rebate layer. EPCOR's only Alberta residential rebates are for stormwater and backwater valves; ENMAX publishes no residential efficiency rebate at all. Both were checked by mapping their sites for rebate pages. The exception is Medicine Hat’s city-owned utility, which pays up to $5,000 a home.
- Whether Banff’s Deep Retrofit rebate has a ceiling. Banff’s financing page says up to $20,000; the programme’s own page and calculation guide set a rate per gigajoule and state no maximum.
- Enbridge Gas runs a separate Smart Thermostat Program, a $75 discount code redeemed before you buy. It is not part of the Home Renovation Savings Program and has no record here yet.
- Lac La Biche County is named on Alberta Municipalities' own page as expecting to launch a residential CEIP. No date and no terms are published.
- Quebec's dual-energy conversion grant publishes no dollar amount on quebec.ca, which refers the reader to Énergir or Enbridge Gaz Québec. The amounts we show come from the programme's normative framework — the document quebec.ca says prevails over everything else published about it — and Énergir’s participation guide, both in French only. A reader who cannot read French cannot check our figures against the administrator's own words, which is the one thing this site asks of every number.
- California’s smaller community choice aggregators, its smaller city-owned utilities, air districts and cities are not assembled yet. Ten of the largest are.
- Oncor, AEP Texas and CenterPoint publish no amount for a new heating and cooling system that a Texas homeowner could check: the incentive is paid to the contractor at rates behind a contractor login, or starting “at $200”. Most Texas co-ops and city utilities other than Austin Energy and CPS Energy are not assembled yet.
- Florida’s smaller co-ops and city utilities (Kissimmee, Keys Energy Services, Fort Pierce, Ocala and others), Florida Public Utilities’ electric programs, and county home repair programs are not assembled yet.
- Duquesne Light and FirstEnergy Pennsylvania have not published their new rebates, so what they will pay is unknown. Most Pennsylvania co-ops, the smaller utilities and National Fuel Gas are not assembled yet.
- New York’s Weatherized Tier is weeks old, and how strictly contractors apply it is not yet known. NYSERDA shows whether the upstate NY-Sun block is still open only as a chart. The municipal utilities’ own extras and the smaller gas utilities are not assembled yet.
- Illinois’s four big utilities have revised 2027–2029 plans before the Illinois Commerce Commission, and the 2026 grid law changes efficiency spending from 2027, so the Illinois amounts here are 2026’s. Ameren publishes no income table for its free upgrades. Several co-ops and most municipal utilities are not assembled yet.
- In Ohio, AEP’s low-income HELP program is paused until its 2027 reopening, and neither AEP nor Enbridge publishes all the detail (HELP’s per-measure limits, Housewarming’s income line). CenterPoint’s Ohio gas customers passed to National Fuel on 1 October 2026, which has announced no rebates for them. Two co-ops and the city utilities outside Efficiency Smart are not assembled yet.
- Georgia’s HEAR pause has no date on GEFA’s page, and GEFA publishes no county income table for its federal rebates. Sixteen smaller EMCs and several city utilities are not assembled yet.
- North Carolina has not published what HEAR pays for the new electric-to-electric projects, and whether Dominion’s water heater rebate reaches North Carolina customers is unclear from its own pages. Several co-ops, most NCEMPA towns and the city gas systems are not assembled yet.
- Michigan does not publish MiHER’s per-upgrade amounts or its county income table, SEMCO’s 2026 amounts are not on its pages, and most co-op HVAC amounts sit on forms. Indiana Michigan Power and several city utilities are not assembled yet.
- New Jersey’s federal rebates have no launch date or published amounts; NJ Natural Gas publishes only a combined maximum, and Rockland Electric’s heat pump program and the municipal utilities are not assembled yet.
- Dominion Energy Virginia publishes no amounts for its assessment-based heat pump and insulation rebates, Appalachian Power’s income-eligible chart was not read, and most co-ops and the municipal utilities are not assembled yet.
- Washington’s State HEAR runs through 40 local administrators whose amounts Commerce has not published; most PUDs, co-ops and city utilities, and Pacific Power’s Washington territory, are not assembled yet.
- Arizona’s electric co-ops and city utilities are not covered (their sites refused our requests), and no Arizona HOMES application was found.
- Which of TVA’s local power companies take part in each EnergyRight program is not listed anywhere we could read; Memphis’s MLGW and Knoxville’s KUB pages, and Piedmont and Atmos gas rebates, are not covered yet.
- Most Massachusetts light plants publish their rebate amounts only on PDF forms, and no state page we read says how Massachusetts’ plans for the federal appliance rebate will change after the May 2026 federal notice.
- Indiana Michigan Power’s Indiana rebates, the co-ops supplied by Hoosier Energy and most municipal utilities are not covered yet, and the Indiana Energy Saver Program’s pages do not say how it applies the May 2026 federal notice.
- Missouri’s federal rebates have no amounts yet, Evergy publishes no Missouri FastTrack table, and most co-ops, Ameren Missouri’s gas side and several city utilities are not assembled yet.
- BGE, Pepco, Delmarva and SMECO do not publish their heat pump discount amounts, and Choptank Electric, the municipal utilities and county programs are not covered yet.
- Colorado’s HER and multifamily HEAR rebates have not launched, Atmos Energy’s amounts would not load, and most co-ops’ per-measure rebates are not assembled yet.
- Wisconsin’s Commitment to Community programs at municipal utilities and co-ops outside Focus on Energy, and the county income tables behind Focus’s tiers, are not assembled yet.
- Minnesota’s co-ops beyond Connexus, most city utilities and Xcel Energy’s current ducted heat pump amounts are not assembled yet.
- South Carolina’s co-ops’ own rebates, Piedmont Natural Gas’s South Carolina offers and the municipal utilities are not assembled yet.
- Alabama’s Spire gas rebates, PowerSouth’s co-ops and the TVA distributors’ own extras are not assembled yet.
- Louisiana’s co-ops other than Claiborne Electric, Lafayette Utilities System and CenterPoint Energy’s gas rebates are not assembled yet.
- Kentucky’s Big Rivers co-ops, city utilities, Atmos Energy and Duke Energy Kentucky’s insulation amounts are not assembled yet.
- Most of Oregon’s consumer-owned utilities (Central Lincoln PUD, Clatskanie, Springfield, Salem Electric and others) and Energy Trust’s Solar Within Reach amounts are not assembled yet.
- Rénoclimat – Adaptation, the flood-adaptation component, started on 1 October 2026, but on 2 October the programme’s page still spoke of it in the future tense, with no application steps; its amounts appear only in a French-language press release of 8 June 2026.
- Quebec’s municipal layer covers Montréal, Laval, Gatineau and the cities that ran Rénovation Québec, but not its municipal electric utilities or its smaller towns.
- LogisVert pays most measures per 1,000 BTU/h of installed capacity, so the headline “up to $6,700” cannot be turned into what a particular household would receive without knowing the size of the machine. Hydro-Québec's own estimator is behind a French-only portal.
- Nova Scotia's programme pages are built client-side, so a simple page fetch cannot read them. The Nova Scotia amounts here were read by hand from Efficiency Nova Scotia's August 2026 rebate guide and checked against its programme pages in a browser.
- Efficiency Manitoba's First Nation Energy Efficiency Program, Community Heat Pump Program and In-Suite Energy Efficiency Program work with whole communities or apartment buildings rather than single households, and have no record here yet. Nor does the City of Winnipeg, or any other Manitoba municipality.
- Saskatchewan's First Nations programmes (SaskPower's Northern First Nations Home Retrofit Program and Indigenous New Homes Rebate, SaskEnergy's First Nations Furnace Replacement Rebate) work through communities and have no record here yet. Regina runs no open home-retrofit programme; its old rebate page is listed as closed.
- Housing NWT's homeowner repair programmes have no record here: its application page still gives 2025 dates. Nunavut's solar grant for homeowners is described on the territories page but has no record, because its guide dates from 2021 and the Housing Corporation's current page does not list it.
- Prince Edward Island's programme pages answer automated requests with a bot-detection challenge, so they can only be read through a full browser, and not always then. The figures here were read off efficiencyPEI's own pages. The Winter Warming page and the closed heat pump pages could not be re-read on 23 September 2026, so they still carry their 5 September dates. PEI publishes no closing date for its Oil to Heat Pump Affordability programme, and no budget figure for the loan.
British Columbia’s municipal top-ups page, linked from the province’s own navigation, currently returns a 404 — so no B.C. municipal figures appear here. Alberta’s municipal layer is assembled, because in Alberta it is the only layer there is.
How these numbers are kept honest
- Primary sources only. Every amount comes off the administrator’s own page. Contractor guides and installer blogs are excluded — they are what this site exists to correct.
- Every figure carries the date a person last read it. That date moves when someone re-reads the source, and at no other time.
- Unknowns stay blank. Where a programme names a bonus but publishes no amount, you will see nothing here rather than a plausible-looking number.
- A loan is never added to a grant. Different instruments are never combined into one headline total.